About Department

  • Establishment: The Departmental of Chemistry, B. J. B (Auto.) College was established in 1957 and is affiliated to Utkal University, Vani Vihar, Bhubaneswar.
  • To transform Department of Chemistry into a ‘CENTRE OF EXCELLENCE’ in the field of teaching-learning and research, and to prepare the students to enter into the top notch universities and research institutions of national and international repute.
  • To create, develop, acquire, and spread new knowledge in Chemical Sciences. To impart rigorous training to instil confidence and expertise among students in different fields of Chemistry. Giving platforms to students to develop their innovative skills through different academic, cultural and physical activities.
    • Sanctioned Posts:

B.Sc Honours in Chemistry

M.Sc in Chemistry


Both theory and practical classes are taken in physical mode but in COVID era theory classes were taken in online mode using ICT enabled tools like mobile phones, laptops, tablets, Zoom, Google meet etc. The teaching learning process is based upon both participative learning like taking remedial classes, holding seminar talks, workshops, extramural lectures etc. Teaching learning process is also inclusive in nature where teaching is imparted for above average students along with students of weaker sections

  1. An Extramural Lecture was held on 24.01.2020 in Department of Chemistry. Dr. Jagabandhu Patra, Assistant Researcher at National Cheng Kung University, Taiwan presented his Lecture on the topic “Lithium-Ion Batteries and Beyond”.
  2. A webinar in Department of Chemistry was organized on 12.08.2021. Prof. (Dr.) Himaja Malipeddi Vellore Institute of Technology delivered her talk in online mode on the topic –“Herbal Cosmetics-Myths and Facts.”
  3. An Extramural Lecture was held on 21.04.2021 in Department of Chemistry. Bibhuti Bhusan Rath, Post-doc from NUS, Singapore delivered a talk on the topic-“Tryst with Chemistry”.
  4. An Extramural Lecture was held on 31.05.2021 in Department of Chemistry. Dr. Sudeep Paul, Assistant Manager, Product Research, Innocule Materials & Additives Pvt Ltd. Delivered a talk on the topic- “Understanding catalysis using basic tools”.
  5. An Extramural Lecture was held on 26.11.2022 in Department of Chemistry. Dr. Himansu Sekhar Biswal, Associate Prof., NISER, Bhubaneswar delivered a talk on “Non-covalent Interactions by Carbon”.
  6. An Extramural Lecture was organized on 04.04.2023 in Department of Chemistry on the occasion of Annual Seminar. Sr. Principal Scientist Dr. Mamata Mohapatra from IMMT, Bhubaneswar delivered a talk on “Energy Storage Device: A road map for Net Zero Emissions Economy”.

Annual Seminar

Extramural Lecture

Inagural Seminar

Debate and Poster

Field Trip 

National Science Day

Ffarewell 31 may 2022

Welcome ceremony 09.12.2022

Career counselling on10.04.2023

Parent teacher meeting 2022

Induction ceremony 13.10.2022

Oath Taking For Vigilance Week

Photo ID Card Students to Higher Institute

Sl No. NAME  
1. Dr. Sudeep Paul Asst. Manager Product Research, Innocule Materials and Additives Pvt. Ltd. Bhubaneswar
2. Bibhuti Bhusan Rath Continuing Post-doc in Max Plank Institute, Germany
3. Sahil Sanitosh Dhir Continuing PhD in Prof Meijer’s research group ( a part of Marie Curie doctoral network ) in Eindhoven , Netherlands.
4. Sritam Mohanty P.O. in Union Bank of India.
5. Dr. Subhangee Sahoo Phd from IIT, Madras.
6. Sanghamitra Naik MSc. From IIT, Hyderabad. Continuing PhD  at IISER, Kolkata( PMRF Fellow)
7. Sagarika Mishra Continuing PhD  at IIT, Bhubaneswar.
8. Safaya Joshi Continuing PhD in NIISER, Bhubaneswar.
9. Arati Samal Gold Medalist in MSc., IIT, Indore. Continuing PhD in IIT, Indore.
10. Sayanika Chakraborty Continuing PhD at TUM-garching Campus(Supervisor-Corina Hess), Munich Germany.
11 Ymunarani Murmu MSc. (CU Kerala), OFS
12 Deepak Ku Behera M. Sc. (IIT Kanpur), Comtinuing Ph. D. In Max Plank Institute, Germany
13 Arun Ku Patel M. Sc. (IIT D), Ph. D. (IISC Bangalore), PDF (University of  Leeds, UK)
14 Arpita Sahoo M. Sc. (OUAT BBSR, Gold medalist), Continuing Ph. D. (IIT Chennai)
15 Swati Puhan M. Sc. (BHU). Selected in SSB lecturership
16 Bidyut Prabha Nayak M. Sc. (IIT BBSR). Selected in SSB lecturership